Law School Discussion

Third-party lenders, etc

Third-party lenders, etc
« on: February 03, 2006, 11:41:45 AM »
I have an unusual situation to deal with, so I was hoping someone from this board might have had some experience along these lines or would otherwise have some words of financial aid wisdom to pass along to me.

I graduated from undergrad in 2005 and have been working at a firm since July 05.  I plan to remain here until July of this year.  I have to move closer to the school around that time (my lease expires then).  I talked to the Financial Aid dept of the school I'll most likely go to, and they said that rent and security deposit and all that good stuff associated with moving are responsibilities of the student, as in out-of-pocket responsibilities.  Of course you can reimburse yourself after you get loan/grant moneys around when school starts, but if you don't have that kind of cash up front, what do you do?  I'm thinking they expect you to get a third-party lender...  A non-educational loan that the lender understands will not be paid back until post-graduation.  I was looking at a few (like myrichuncle.com) but I don't want to get involved with a sketchy lender, and hoped someone here might know something about the various third-party lenders around.  Which ones are good, which not?