Law School Discussion

My take on the first year of law school

My take on the first year of law school
« on: June 19, 2008, 08:42:09 PM »
Some people have PMed me about advice on how to do well in first year of LS. So i decided to just post a general thread where i share my own study methods. Be forwarned that this is what has worked for me, but it's not necessarily what will work for you. But it's worth a try.

First, to establish some credibility my first year LS grades were: A+,A,A,A,A,A-,A-,B+. Maybe it was all luck. Maybe it was the way i studied- but most likely it was a combination of both. You hear a lot about how grades are really random and you can't really prepare- but I'm not quite sure if it's true. If that were the case, then some students would just be  really "lucky" because if it is truly random, then you'd get an A in one class, and a B in another and so on... Since there are students that consistently do well, there has to be something more than random luck involved.

Pre-LS summer studying: I personally read the Plant Law School 2, and tried to follow some of the advice in that book last summer. A lot of people say don't study before LS, but I dont think it's such a bad idea. There was some value in it for me. 
What I felt i got out of my pre-LS studying is that I had some mental confidence that I know about the stuff we were going to study and that I was already ahead of my classmates in some respect. It's a good mental bonus when you're stressed out and helps you keep you calm. For example, in Civ Pro I already knew what personal jurisdiction, subject matter jurisdiction, and venue were and all of those things already clicked for me before I even started. So when we were studying PJ our first few weeks I already knew where we were going to go, and had no trouble following (incidently, I realized that learning about infamous Pennoyer case-probably the first case in every casebook- was a waste of time, because the current Black Law has changed).