Law School Discussion

"If you admit me, I'll come"

"If you admit me, I'll come"
« on: December 07, 2007, 12:07:37 PM »
Here's my situation. Thanks for any advice you experts can offer.

I would really love to go to William & Mary, because they have a program that's right up my alley. My numbers are very average (3.4 from top school, conservatively projecting a 160 or 162 on Dec LSAT from my practice tests) but I have 2 years of interesting work experience, did mad ECs in college, and my essays have gotten high marks from my readers.

I missed the ED deadline, so my dilleama is this: should I explicitly tell the W & M adcomms that if they admit me, i'll come? I know schools worry about yield protection, after all.

I'm already planning to answer the question "why W & M" in my application, by the way. That won't be hard, because my interest is very genuine. But should I very explicitly say "if you accept me, i'll come?"  - thats my question.

non parata est

• buh??
    • View Profile
Re: "If you admit me, I'll come"
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2007, 12:10:17 PM »
"if you accept me, i'll come?"  - thats my question.

Wow, that is explicit.  :o

Ding me I dare ya!

• Yatta!!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2007, 12:14:35 PM »
i think its a good idea to write a why W&M esp cuz you seem like you have something worth to say.  As for explicitly stating "If you admit me, I'll come" I think thats a bad idea.  express that W&M is your first choice for such and such reasons.  anything more than that may come off like you're begging and unprofessional. you know what i mean?

but regardless good luck! and i hope you get in to your number one!!

« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2007, 12:22:24 PM »