Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Any differences? University of Waterloo and University of Toronto?  (Read 4028 times)

penelopec

• View Profile
I am currently studying Economics at University of Waterloo, and planning to apply top law school in the states.

Some people said, I may need to think of transferring to University of Toronto due to its ranking, which is higher than U of W.

Is that true? ??? ??? ???

Will I have more chance if I graduate from University of Toronto.

I guess my GPA will slightly go down if I go there.

TeresaPinfold

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Any differences? University of Waterloo and University of Toronto?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2007, 02:36:17 AM »
No

nerfco

• Sr. Citizen
  • U.Chi '10
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2007, 11:15:03 AM »
Doubtful schools down here will care much, if at all.

ewiar

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2007, 01:58:11 PM »
No. I've been accepted everywhere I've applied so far (including HLS) coming from Laurier (you know: the high school down the street from you guys...). If WLU isn't a handicap, surely UW won't be either.
LSAT: 178
GPA: 3.95
(Canadian)

nerfco

• Sr. Citizen
  • U.Chi '10
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2007, 01:30:39 AM »
No. I've been accepted everywhere I've applied so far (including HLS) coming from Laurier (you know: the high school down the street from you guys...). If WLU isn't a handicap, surely UW won't be either.

This story would mean a lot more if your numbers weren't 3.95/178.

It isn't as if your numbers were near borderline for HLS anyhow...

ewiar

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2007, 02:16:23 AM »
Appreciate the (somewhat backhanded) compliment nerfco :P, but I think it's relevant to some degree. For one thing, my numbers wouldn't be 3.94/178 if I was at U of T (or, hell, even at Queen's), they'd probably be more like 3.8 or 3.7/178.