Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Nurse practitioner to JD????  (Read 2913 times)

chirnonc

• View Profile
    • Email
Nurse practitioner to JD????
« on: October 24, 2007, 12:38:25 PM »
Hi!  I am a 40 something nurse practitioner who has been bitten by the law school bug.  I am currently working on a legal nurse consultant certificate.  While doing this I have found I really like learning about the law.

I am considering LS.  My grad GPA was between 3.0-3.5...can't recall exactly.  I am thinking of doing med-mal or personal injury.  I am worried about work load etc.  I'm thinking of going to a PT program cause I still need to work. 

I'm married but have no kids.  I'm going to meet with an attorney friend to get her opinion/advise.  I have brought the kaplan prep books for the LSAT.  I will be finishing the LNC program first so I am not looking untill fall 2008 or 2009.

Any other advise/suggestions?

Thanks.

LSRN

• View Profile
Re: Nurse practitioner to JD????
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2007, 03:35:45 PM »
I am an RN and in my 3rd year of a PT program.  There are lots of opportunities for RN/JD.  Check out TAANA.com (The American Association of Nurse Attorneys).  Undergrad GPA was a little less than yours and LSAT was ok.  Took two admissions cycles to get in, but I am in now and doing great.  Love it - oh, and I'll be 51 when I graduate!

RN to JD

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Nurse practitioner to JD????
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2007, 08:01:56 PM »