Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: REASONS TO GO TO LAW SCHOOL?  (Read 3162 times)

gymnm77

• View Profile
    • Email
REASONS TO GO TO LAW SCHOOL?
« on: October 16, 2007, 08:00:34 AM »
I am anticipating applying to law schools in the near future in the DC metro area as a non-traditional student (PT evening programs).    I have some work experience although am still somewhat young (30 yrs old).  Served in the military 5 years, worked on a two degress (BS and MBA) while working full-time.  When the question arises 'Why am I considering law school?', I am stumped.  My reasons for going because of the challenge, it is a great career move for someone interested in contract law, and will increase my opportunities in the future.  I have read many personal statements and many of them are from younger students with very limited work experience who often want to become lawyers to 'make a difference' and address social injustices.  In short, I would like to gain some insight from other non-traditional students as to your own personal reasons for going to law school?     

cfplaw

• View Profile
Re: REASONS TO GO TO LAW SCHOOL?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2007, 10:38:09 AM »
How about...

Many people in my situation want to go to law school as a career change or to do something different.  I am really interested in taking my career to the next level and being able to practice contract law.  I don't necessarily view law school as a career change, but rather a career enhancement.  If I hadn't done my other degrees and didn't have my work experience, I probably wouldn't want to go into law.  It is everything in my past that led me to this point. 

I'm saying something like that...

azoraraine

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2007, 04:27:24 PM »