Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: PS for Non-trads  (Read 2239 times)

rohan

• View Profile
PS for Non-trads
« on: October 06, 2007, 12:08:14 PM »
Hi, I'm curious about what some of you nontrads are doing for your PS. Are you addressing why law/why the change in your career? It seems that it would be odd not to tell adcomms why you are changing careers after 10+ years in a given field (as in my case, I was an HR Manager/Director for over 10 years). So, in reading the standard advice for PS's, do you think the advice for trads applies to non-trads (ie, don't talk about why you want to go to law school)?

Thoughts?

Thanks!

BlueWhite

• View Profile
Re: PS for Non-trads
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2007, 07:49:22 PM »
You should definitely address why you want to change careers.  I think omitting that would leave schools to wonder whether you actually have a good reason and know wbat you're doing.  In Anna Ivey's book, she writes, "The only people who should be discussing their career goals in a personal statement are older applicants pursuing a career change (admissions offers will want to know)." 

rohan

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2007, 08:26:59 PM »
Thanks, my plan was to address this and while I know Anna reigns Queen, sometimes it's nice to have her wisdom and your own instincts validated by your peers. KWIM? I only want to go through the apps process once.  ;)

JimmyO

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2007, 11:27:04 PM »
I've worked in higher ed in a few different capacities over my 7 years since undergrad, along with a little work in radio and music on the side. What I'm doing with my PS is tying together all my experiences and how they have pointed me in the direction of a legal career. In fact, I come right out and say being an attorney has not been a lifelong goal of mine, but one I've come to after much thought.

scottie

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2007, 05:22:29 PM »