Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Am I wasting my time?  (Read 1656 times)

lostsailor

• View Profile
Am I wasting my time?
« on: September 20, 2007, 12:59:57 AM »
I wanted to see what others thought of my chances of actually getting into law school. I'm going to be sending out some crazy apps.

I graduated in 1993 from a state university in the South with a 2.5. My freshman year I went to a school in Florida, went crazy, and was placed on probation then dismissed for my crap grades. Transferred to a technical college, got my grades up then transferred to the state U. I graduated from 3-1/2 years later. While in school though, I worked 25 hrs/week at a law firm, was on the varsity lacrosse team, and was parlimentarian for my fraternity. I majored in English and minored in Business Admin. I'm a white male.

I took the lsat in 1993, and did average, which was surprising since I didn't prepare AT ALL. With a poor last and poorer grades, I gave up on my interest in law school.

Over the next 14 years, I traveled, was a realtor, salesman, insurance adjuster, managing editor for a newswire, and quit to get married and move back to the coast and open my own business. Over the course of the next two years, I ended up going to rehab for alcohol(which was the best thing to happen to me) but ended up getting divorced(not related to the alcohol, but my wife still left me; long story), and having to sell my business right after it opened. I gained some valuable experience with the business. I also had seven attorneys in my life at one point.

Ended up moving twice since the divorce and after a LOT of soul searching, decided to go to law school, and be serious about it. To say I'm nothing like I was back in college is an understatement. I'm extremely focused and motivated.