Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: from science to law?  (Read 2916 times)

qt314

• Sr. Citizen
  • pi = 3.14, k?
    • View Profile
    • bluewords
from science to law?
« on: August 22, 2007, 06:41:52 PM »
Hi all,

I'm pretty new here, but I thought I'd ask for your feedback since I've seen some really helpful replies here. I'm an MD/PhD student switching into law, and though my undergrad GPA is pretty good and my practice LSATs aren't bad, most of my coursework was in the sciences. I haven't done anything that sounds traditionally pre-law. Would you guys recommend pausing for a year, working as a paralegal, etc. to get more experience and a "pre-law" history before applying? Why/why not?

Thanks in advance for your input!!
NYU Class of 2011!

BlueWhite

• View Profile
Re: from science to law?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2007, 09:03:27 PM »
As long as your undergrad GPA and LSAT are solid, you're fine.  I asked some admissions officers whether it was okay that I was coming from a pure science background, and they said that was fine.  I don't think working as a paralegal would help much because I'm sure lots of applicants do that, too.  You just need to have a convincing story about why you're making the switch from science to law so that they don't think you're a serial student. 

qt314

• Sr. Citizen
  • pi = 3.14, k?
    • View Profile
    • bluewords
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2007, 11:10:15 PM »
BlueWhite, you made the switch, too? That's awesome! I'm glad I'm not alone  :). are you applying this year?

pignacious, are you saying i just need to have a good personal statement explaining my switch? i guess at first glance, i do kind of sound like a serial student (just rounding up every degree :).) i do have real reasons why i know this is the right choice for me, so my strategy for the personal statement was just to be as honest as possible about my trajectory.

NYU Class of 2011!

BlueWhite

• View Profile