Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Help  (Read 1959 times)

nosaj

• View Profile
Help
« on: July 23, 2007, 04:44:09 PM »
Hey guys,

I just wanted to ask a quick question as i have recently gotten serious about law school. I wanted to know whether or not i have a chance to at law school.

I recently wrote my lsat and scored 160 on it, but have some quite poor marks from my first two years of my UG as i was immature and a poor student.

I graduated with a 3.6/4 in my lats 2 years(honours) with a bachelor of commerce but my cgpa would be much lower as i only had a 2.7/4 for my first two years.

Do i stand a chance at any school within canada or am i going to need to rewrite my last and have a 165+ because of my first two years?

thanks in advance, i know nobody here knows the answer whether i will be accepted but is it a good idea to even apply at this point?

obbear

• View Profile
Re: Help
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2007, 09:43:07 AM »
If you've already graduated, then some of the schools that look at your last 2 years only, or primarily, might be possible - look at Queens, Western, Sask, maybe Dal, maybe Alberta, if you took at least 60cr. in your final 2.  Also worth considering are the schools that drop some of your worst credits:  UNB, Manitoba (there are others - UBC, UVic - but those are probably beyond reach).  How much that helps you depends on whether you've got some low outliers bringing your GPA down.  I'd say everything else is either out or a very long shot, except for Calgary and Windsor, depending on your ECs.

I don't think you're totally safe anywhere, but if you're fine with rolling the dice and don't care too much where you might end up, it's definitely worth applying with the 160.  Good luck!

(Oh, and you'll probably get more help at lawstudents.ca than you will here.)

nosaj

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2007, 02:04:31 PM »