Law School Discussion

resume question

jarhead

• "i keeps it reeaal!"
    • View Profile
resume question
« on: July 19, 2007, 12:16:42 PM »
i am trying to de-technical my resume for law school. i've only chornicled my work experience back to 2003 (i got out of the marine corps in 03 so i just put everything i did there under 98-03) problem is i've had several jobs since then. i was a government consultant so even though i technically only worked for one company, i did so at several different government agencies, so it's kind of hard to list it all as just 03-07. i've trimmed my it down quite a bit but it's still a full page. basically i have my candidate for JD at the top, my BA under that and a full page of work history. is that too much? how did you guys handle your resumes? i mean i'm 34 just my work history from '98 on fills up more than one page. any suggestions? i'm trying to find a way to put all my military/governement stuff in one section. i mean most of what i did is in government classifed speak. it's not like anybody outside of that career field will be able to decipher it. 

Re: resume question
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2007, 08:04:19 AM »
Since I don't know what you've done, I can't give specific suggestions for how to simplify your resume, but I think with the amount of experience you have you'd be entitled to let your work experience spill over to a second page.

I think a career counselor would be most useful in helping you reformulate your resume.

jarhead

• "i keeps it reeaal!"
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2007, 09:12:50 AM »
right, i guess my main question is for the non-trads here that have significant work experience how long is your resume before you put anything that will be law school related?

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2007, 09:56:42 AM »