Law School Discussion

Waitlisted for Sept LSAT??

Waitlisted for Sept LSAT??
« on: July 12, 2007, 09:18:09 PM »
Hi all. I am just beginning this LS journey and...

I just attempted to register for the September 07 LSAT (with what I thought was plenty of time) and there are NO spaces in any of the 8 of so testing centers near me. I have been waitlisted, but this makes me very nervous.

I live in a major city (Washington, DC.) Is this common? Do they add more spaces based on waitlists? What does one do in this situation? I will surely do poorly if I have to go take the test in some other city. :(

Thanks in advance for all the feedback.

ctown

Re: Waitlisted for Sept LSAT??
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2007, 10:55:11 PM »
You should check Richmond.

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2007, 11:05:27 PM »
That happened to me, too, (not in D.C., but same basic issue) when I tried to registered for the test way back when.

I trued to book my seat the day before the regular registration deadline, so maybe that had something to do with it.

Anyway, I asked my pre-lay adviser, and she said that I should probably just hangout on the waitlist until someone canceled... and lo-and-behold a few days later someone did.

There is a couple advantages to this approach: first, although I never had to do this, I certainly wouldn't want to have to go far from home to take the test, which is what you'd be doing if you register for an out-of-region test center.

Also, I'm skeptical of the website when it says to enroll at a different center but also stay on the waitlist for your prefered location. It seems to me that this is just a trick to get you to pay the $35 relocation fee when a seat opens up. My guess is this is why they don't tell you where you are on the waitlist; they want to inspire fear.

So, just speaking from my own limited experience, go on the waitlist, don't book a seat in Rochester or anything, and assume that you'll get in.

papercranes