Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Are we delusional? How not to be one of the miserable $ unemployed  (Read 2577 times)

wellpreserved

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
As an incessant researcher I have no doubt come across some of the same stuff you guys have:

- the employment stats for new ls grads suck
- only the top of the iveys get jobs
- the debt load crushes any chances for work
- it was the biggest mistake of so-and-so's life
- law school students are miserable and lawyers are drug addicts with a penchant for dicount whores
- etc., etc.

Not that I discount the pretty staggering mountain of evidence that suggests law is not the pie in the sky career choice so many think it is, but I'd sure love to hear how so many of us non-trads are justifying our return to school.

I do not think I'm so special that none of the stats will apply to me. I do think that I have a different definition of a successful career than students who maybe haven't worked for ten years in middle level, dead end careers. So, I like to think I won't be so insulted by an offer to do contract work or 45K a year.

I also have some relevent sales, training and marketing experience I hope would suggest to employers that I don't have to be trained on the basics of "how to work in the real world."

I'm open to moving just about anywhere and I'm vetting schools based on the COA for the very purpose of not having a 100k student loan monkey on my back. And, look, I'm one of those people that has worked an actual crappy job - scheduled bathroom breaks, ridiculous work schedules, abusive management - so long hours and working to prove yourself doesn't sound like hell to me.

I mean...have I not thought of most things? Or am I crazy to think I won't be one of the posters over at Anna Ivey's blog or this guy's blog (http://barelylegalblog.blogspot.com/)nine months to a year post graduation?