Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Asking professors who have no clue who you are  (Read 1085 times)

TeresaPinfold

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Asking professors who have no clue who you are
« on: July 02, 2007, 06:08:55 AM »
Given that one has already violated all the suggestions for getting Letters of Recommendation, how does he recover? I want to apply this fall, which is racing up fast, and I haven't even made the first move. I graduated from college without speaking to a single professor, and there are none who would even know who I am (a sad result of never going to class except for tests). Would it be considered reasonable etiquette to ask a stranger (just based on the grade I got, I guess)? My major doesn't have any essays or documentary evidence of the quality of my work. Some say to send in a PS and resume, but I haven't written the first, and the second would be completely empty. Can I ask them now, during the summer, or is this a sacrosanct time during which they expect to be able to avoid students? Some caution against asking by e-mail, but as I am no longer at the school, I have little choice, it seems. I am not expecting a rave, so should I make it clear to them that I will take anything that isn't positively insulting, just to fulfill the requirement, or is it better to try to bluff?

Ilovecheese

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Asking professors who have no clue who you are
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2007, 03:58:46 PM »
E-mailing a professor is never a good idea. I suggest finishing up your PS, even writing a rough draft is enough as long a sit conveys a message of who you are, then go to professors in whose classes you got good grades and ask them to write on  for you. I also suggest making a short list of things that should be included in a LoR, such a list can be found in Anna Ivey's book.