Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: PLEASE HELP - Scored 142 on Preptest  (Read 2861 times)

kellylynn83

• View Profile
    • Email
PLEASE HELP - Scored 142 on Preptest
« on: September 19, 2004, 06:27:53 PM »
I am currently enrolled in a Kaplan course.  I have taken 4 prep tests so far and I cannot get above a 142.  This number is just haunting me.  I have been studying for the past 2 months, and I don't know what I am doing wrong.  I have the most troubles with reading comprehension and Logical Reasoning.  I registered for the Oct.2 test, do you think I should wait until December to take it so I can get more practice in?  If anyone has any advice for me, I really appreciate it.  I am just freaking out right now ???

Matthew_24_24

Re: PLEASE HELP - Scored 142 on Preptest
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2004, 09:50:02 PM »
I would to.  If that is what you are scoring and you plan on attending Fall 2005 you need to:

a) postpone until December
b) Scrap that Kaplan crap, im sorry, it sucks.
c) Purchase a minimum of 20 practice tests

That is a minimum: Highly recommended:

a) powerscore testmasters course

or

b) Logic reasoning bible, logic games bible, & master the lsat

You need to start from scratch, learn how to do the questions untimed, practice a set methodology for reasoning, and apply it consistently over the next two months.  If your grades for one semster drop from a 3.7 (for example) to a 3.3, so be it.  It will make a .05 dent into your overall GPA, but without a 155 LSAT chances are you wont get into any decent school at all.  160-165 highly recommended.

Matt

Addendum: I know this sounds harsh, but I assume that Law is a person's first choice when they come here.  This might not be the right advice for you if Law is a 2nd or 3rd option.

dgatl

« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2004, 09:55:03 PM »
postpone until December (or maybe even sit out a year), and follow all of Matt's advice above

kellylynn83

• View Profile
    • Email