Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: MBA to Law School  (Read 2661 times)

1bizzy1

• View Profile
MBA to Law School
« on: June 08, 2007, 04:49:45 AM »
So I know this is a bit backward, but after working at a sweatshop investment bank on Wall Street and then as a NYC biglawfirm as a paralegal, I thought b-school would be a good idea, so I fired up a top-10 school and $80,000 in debt. I waited until my last quarter of b-school and then took Business Law (a pretty gut survey course, unlike "real law school") and LOVED IT.  I realize now that I made a mistake--I'd rather be back in law.  I am even envious of the work that the General Counsel of my firm does--I sit near him all day and think, "I could do that!"

Is it crazy talk to want to go to law school if it's something I've been thinking about for years? I would be 31 when I finished law school, so not crazy old, but not 25 either.  And well over $200,000 in debt too. 

Does anyone have any insight on whether the AdComm would look upon my MBA favorably, perhaps to mitigate my 3.3ish GPA from a Top-5 undergrad school?  Any help appreciated--I know that usually attorneys wish they had gone to b-school, but...I would be going into this with my eyes wide open, having worked at huge NYC corporate law firm.

DDBY

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: MBA to Law School
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2007, 10:19:33 AM »
Tag

wellpreserved

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2007, 03:26:13 PM »
bump

I think "I-banking vs. biglaw" would make a great discussion...