Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Is LSAT too low?  (Read 1798 times)

LawSchoolhopeful

• View Profile
Is LSAT too low?
« on: March 05, 2004, 04:45:20 PM »
Hello!

My undergraduate GPA was a 3.938 (1999) graduating  5/589 but my Feb. LSAT score was a 149. I was extremely disappointed. I have nearly 3 years of work experience working in the TV News industry and my major was Communications at a Public institution.  I recently went through a divorce, though, with an infant and a husband that was arrested with possesion of cocaine which may have affected my score.  What do you think my chances are of getting into a top 20 school?

Thanks so much!

PS- Im too embarassed to ask anyone I know this b/c of my Lsat thanks for this service

dsds3581

• View Profile
Re: Is LSAT too low?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2004, 05:03:08 PM »
Very, very little chance.

I think you need to prep hard for a re-take, score at LEAST in the mid 160s (therefore, don't take the test again until you're scoring at least that high repeatedly on practice tests) and then apply with an addendum about how you got that 149 while you were having problems dealing with complications that were recent in relation to the time of that exam. That way, several top 20 schools will probably disregard the 149 instead of averaging it with your higher score.

Ivy_Hopeful

• Sr. Citizen
  • Final UGPA 3.894 / LSAT 141
    • MSN Messenger - dduncan81@msn.com
    • AOL Instant Messenger - Dduncan81
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - Derryp999
    • View Profile
    • A website that I built and maintain.
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2004, 05:03:56 PM »