Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: is this going to be a problem?  (Read 1176 times)

bhangbhangbang

• View Profile
    • Email
is this going to be a problem?
« on: March 15, 2007, 03:33:13 PM »
so i'm totally new to this applying to law school thing ... and i need some advice . . .

i'm 2 years out of college, got my bs in microbiology, didn't form many "relationships" with any profs . . . so i'm not sure if i'll be able to get a good lor from any of them.  i have other good sources for letters (community leaders, church leaders, employers, etc.), but i keep on reading that having a letter of rec from someone who can assess your academic potential from a classroom setting is pretty important.

is this going to be a problem for me?

thank you much.

jdhu

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: is this going to be a problem?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 05:13:59 PM »
I was somewhat in the same boat, worked for a few years after college before applying this year.  I think an employer LOR that discusses your capabilities/potential would substitute well for a professor LOR.

I happened to meet a former adcomm person through work and thus got a very nice LOR from him.  See if you can find someone similar, or perhaps you are a member of Mensa or something like that, something like that that provides some clue to your academic potential.

Hank Rearden

• LSD Obsessed
  • Zurich is stained
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2007, 05:17:09 PM »
I don't know what Mensa would mean...

I do recommend getting at least one academic letter, even if it isn't very good.
CLS '10

The appropriateness of Perpetua would probably depend on the tone of the writing.  When I used it, I (half playfully) thought the extra space made the words sort of resonate.

jdhu

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2007, 09:29:55 PM »

I do recommend getting at least one academic letter, even if it isn't very good.