Law School Discussion

UIUC or Vanderbilt?

-

UIUC or Vanderbilt?
« on: March 05, 2007, 10:31:23 AM »
Both offered $15K/yr., however, I'm an Illinois resident, so UIUC would be considerably cheaper.  I'd like to practice in the Midwest or the South after I graduate.  I'd like to avoid Chicago, though.  Is Vanderbilt worth the debt? 

Re: UIUC or Vanderbilt?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2007, 12:11:23 PM »
If I were in-state at UIUC and offered 15K, I would go there over Vandy in a heartbeat.  Then again, I have debt phobia and base my decision on debt first, rankings a close second.

bamf

• legal eagle
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2007, 12:29:54 PM »
If you plan to go into any kind of medium or large private firm job go with Vandy.  Even more so since you don't want to be in Chicago.  UIUC is an excellent school, but it obviously puts a significant amount of grads in the Chicago market.  There is certainly something to be said for being debt-free, but there is also something to be said for being right there with the T14 in private firm placement
http://www.law.com/jsp/nlj/PubArticleNLJ.jsp?id=1168423325385

-

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2007, 06:24:44 PM »
Would my job opportunities be significantly better if I attended Vanderbilt?

bamf

• legal eagle
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2007, 10:57:24 PM »
Yes.  They have better OCI and more national placement.

Ravynous Elegance

• aw the baby bunt! too bad he got big.
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2007, 09:18:00 AM »
Since you could get a great job in chicago at UIUC, I would go there. Especially considering that most large firms have branches in chicago and if you really wanted to avoid it, you could (in theory) suck it up for a few years, then transfer within the firm to a different office. I have a good friend that did that, and it worked out fine for her. She ended up in London from NYC.