Law School Discussion

Took my first practice... now where to go

Took my first practice... now where to go
« on: September 12, 2004, 02:27:01 AM »

Ok, so ive been studying for months and finally took my first practive test for Oct 2. I was really scared because ive read about people getting 140s and 150s and was worried that would be me because for some reason i assume everyone who takes the lsat is smart, but apparently not. Well, i took it and got a 173. it was from the Feb 2001 exam. I figure this is a good way to start out. Ive been busting my ass on games and reasoning for about 3 months and it finally paid off. So heres the deal, with a 3.1 in chem and a masters, where can i confidently apply. My top choices are Boalt, Penn, NYU, GW and G-town, and columbia, I know the GPA sucks, so GW and Boalt are probably more likely than the others....right?.....can i get some input and suggestions please.

BTW....im not URM or anything. i have been independent since 7, no guardians or anything, so that may be a unique circumstrance for my PS and stuff...

thanks guys.

!@#$%

• View Profile
Re: Took my first practice... now where to go
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2004, 06:17:03 AM »

I know the GPA sucks, so GW and Boalt are probably more likely than the others....right?.....can i get some input and suggestions please.

BTW....im not URM or anything. i have been independent since 7, no guardians or anything, so that may be a unique circumstrance for my PS and stuff...

thanks guys.

Um, not really.  Most schools place significantly more weight on your LSAT score, with Boalt being a notable exception.  If you run your numbers through Chiashu (www.chiashu.com/lsat.html), you will see that a 3.1/174 gives you about a 2% chance of getting into Boalt.  Of the schools you listed, GW would be your only "likely admit," and Georgetown would be a possibility.  The rest would probably classify as "reaches."

dr_draino

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2004, 10:26:16 AM »