Law School Discussion

$$ Value of a Rutgers, Seton Hall, etc.

$$ Value of a Rutgers, Seton Hall, etc.
« on: February 23, 2007, 03:26:35 PM »
I am interested in getting people's input on the value of these schools in terms of my current situation: I want to live and work in NYC, but from these schools, the opportunity for NYC is limited to the cream of the cream of the crop (and we all know that hard work does not necessarily = good grades, PARTICULARLY in law school).

Considering this...as many people have stated, there is no guarantee of top 10-20% rank at these schools.  I was an Economics major and am doing business consulting; while I do have an interest in being a lawyer, I also expected the profession to provide for $$ me (however, Mr. LSAT surely prevented this guarantee for me) and intended to get into a better school which would provide improved opportunity professionally.  Really, I don't know how much improved professional opportunity these NJ schools can provide.

So...making $60,000 right out of undergrad and being able to work in NYC, do you think it is a good idea for a Rutgers or Seton Hall; the clerkship rates are alarmingly high and the reality is that students below the top quarter to third of this class make just this much or only slightly more.  I just don't know if the cost of law school and the 3 years is worth it to me from an economic sense. 

Re: $$ Value of a Rutgers, Seton Hall, etc.
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2007, 08:38:00 AM »