Law School Discussion

Health Law - Want a Change- Need Advice!!

Health Law - Want a Change- Need Advice!!
« on: December 13, 2006, 09:03:37 PM »
Hi All!!

Need some advice.  I am interested in health law and I am definitely in need of some advice.  I'm late for this application cycle so I guess I'll be going in '08.  I graduated IU in 2002 with a Biology degree (3.1), worked in a lab for a couple of years, and am now in a Biomedical Science Ph.D program. 
I'm not a big fan of this AT ALL!

My grades in grad school aren't stellar but not too bad and I find that my desire to pursue health law stems not really from my initial desire to go to med school. I take some of their classes for my program, so I KNOW that's not it! My initial goal when I thought I wanted to go to med school was to contribute to the landscape of health care in America in general and Women/minority healthcare issues especially. I still want to do this only in a different way. I would like to do a joint degree (JD/MPH or MHA/JD).  I looked at the rankings for this type of law and I like IU-Indy (in-state) and SLU. Since it's kind of late, I still have time to apply to MPH programs for Fall '07.  Will schools look poorly on someone who didn't finish a Ph.D but has some work experience and a desire to still pursue a career in an area that she loves only on a different path?  Will I look flighty?

Let me know? Thank you so much for reading this.

Para Legal

• Go Pipers!
    • View Profile
Re: Health Law - Want a Change- Need Advice!!
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2006, 09:46:26 PM »
Congrats on finding your path!

1. U of Maryland has an excellent health law program, as does U of Houston. Check them out.

2. You won't look flighty if you do your personal statement right- by explaining the grad work in such a way as to say "hey, I found out this wasn't my path, but here's what I'm doing with the knowledge and work I put into it." Make it a positive and show what you've done.