Law School Discussion

Some advice for international applicant

ě

• non sequitur
    • View Profile
Some advice for international applicant
« on: November 15, 2006, 10:27:16 AM »
Hey, my first post and I figured I'd start by asking a few questions since it seems there are well qualified people on these boards. I have submitted my law school applications today, and my school list is something like; Columbia (ED), NYU, Fordham, Rutger's Newark, St. John's and New York Law School.

The questions are two-fold, assuming I don't get any of my top 3's, how do you guys rate Rutger's, St. John's and NYLS compared to eachother? I do not know enough about these to really make a decision, I simply selected them as safetly choices in the NYC area.

Second question is, my LSAT score is a bit short for my top 3 choices, but I have extensive background that might help. The real question however is, do you believe / know / suspect that law schools give any wiggle room in LSAT scores to English foreign speakers? I heard some rumors that minority students gets an "8 point bonus" to their LSAT score, logically I would assume this applies to foreign speakers as well?

Anyhow, hoping someone can give me a head ups, cheers :)

Re: Some advice for international applicant
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2006, 05:29:07 PM »
To get a feedback, I think you must tell your lsat and gpa range.

For a person who apply to Columbia and NYU, NYLS or St. John's can't be a safety. You can have better safety schools, like Fordham.

ě

• non sequitur
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2006, 07:18:50 PM »
I have no idea, the 8 points was something I found on www.vault.com's message boards for Howard university, an alleged margine for minority applicants.

For a person who apply to Columbia and NYU, NYLS or St. John's can't be a safety. You can have better safety schools, like Fordham.