Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Substantial income this year, no foreseable income next year.  (Read 1040 times)

Patrick S

• View Profile
    • Email
Substantial income this year, no foreseable income next year.
« on: October 19, 2006, 05:09:52 PM »
Right now I'm a 4th year undergrad, every year I have been eligble for financial aid grants because I come from a single parent household and have been a dependent. But this year I made about $80k from online poker, which has recently been outlawed. So next year I will not have any income. Will my financial aid package be based on my income from this year or my projected income next year? I also will not be receiving any help from my family next year if that makes a difference.

butterz

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Substantial income this year, no foreseable income next year.
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2006, 05:11:44 PM »
$80k from online poker...law school might be worth reconsidering.
:-) WUSTL($$), W&L ($$), UNC-Chapel Hill($$), Fordham PT, Wake Forest, Miami($$), IU-B($$), Pacific-McGeorge ($$$$), Hofstra ($$$$), GMU PT ($$), GW
:-| BC, Cornell, NU, Penn
:-O It Just Wasn't Meant to Be: GULC PT, Boalt, UCLA

butterz

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2006, 05:20:25 PM »
But seriously, i had substantial financial aid as an undergrad and for the past 2 years I've been working in ibanking and i had the same concern. after doing some research i was pretty much able to conclude that fafsa will use your previous years income, but if you don't plan on working for the upcoming school year and you can let your grad school's financial office know that your last year's earnings is not representative of your earnings and they'll use their discretion and take your expected earnings for the upcoming year into consideration instead of last year's earnings.