Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Help! Urgent Advice Requested  (Read 974 times)

iluvcats1977

• LSAT Dec '04, 3.36 UGPA, 3.48 MBA Degree
    • AOL Instant Messenger - iluvcats
    • View Profile
    • Email
Help! Urgent Advice Requested
« on: February 13, 2004, 06:11:19 PM »
Hi everyone.  I got my first rejection letter today from NKU, and I expect that my LSAT score was the deciding factor.  I scored a 147.  My question is this:  I want to apply to a few more schools.  I have historically performed poorly on standardized tests, be it the SAT, ACT, and the GMAT (I have an MBA with a very good GPA, although I scored poorly on that exam as well).  How should I present this to the schools?  Is it enough to simply say I've scored poorly historically, or should I go more into detail, like I scored XXX on the GMAT but graduated with a high GPA, indicating my ability to succeed despite a poor test score?  Do I need to include official documentation of other exam scores to back up what I am saying?  Any advice would be appreciated.  Thanks!

kattiewitch

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help! Urgent Advice Requested
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2004, 06:29:27 PM »
This is just my opinion, but I would discuss, historically, your numbers and then your performance in those programs.  If you have documentation, or if you can make copies of it, it might be worth it to include it.  Also, and this is just an opinion, you may want to consider having on of your letters of recommendation address it.  If one of your profs from your masters program can testify that your scores were less than, but your performance was stellar, that might help.
Good Luck!

iluvcats1977

• LSAT Dec '04, 3.36 UGPA, 3.48 MBA Degree
    • AOL Instant Messenger - iluvcats
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2004, 05:19:04 PM »