Law School Discussion

Mediocre LSAT and GPA

Mediocre LSAT and GPA
« on: February 12, 2004, 06:44:59 PM »
I scored a 155 on my LSAT and my cumulative undergraduate gpa from Washington University was a 3.10 (B.S. in civil engineering).  I have been working as an engineer for three years at one of the largest engineering firms in the world, and I obtained excellent references.  I have had a difficult time assessing where I would fall in the applicant pool, and as such have applied to 16 schools with 5 more on my list.  I fall below the mean LSAT scores at a majority of the schools I have chosen. Does anyone have any advice?  My top choices are UC Hastings, George Washington, USC, and Fordham. Am I being unrealistic given my mediocre LSAT and GPA?  From the third tier I am considering Penn State and New York Law School. 

fungoking

• Play me some Buck Owens!!!!
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Mediocre LSAT and GPA
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2004, 07:11:12 PM »
I think your GPA is less a problem becuse your have a "sexy" major, ie, its a technical BS that most applicants don't have.  I also would think because you come from such a reputable undergrad, and again, because your major isnt really famous for high GPAs, you'll be competitive with higher GPAs.

Again, this is all specualtion....

Your LSAT might hurt you at UC, GW, and Fordham.  I think its below range at all three schools, and there isnt much you can do to dress up an LSAT score.  It's pretty concrete.  By last years numbers, you got a shot at Penn State and NYLS, but the four top 50s, by numnbers alone, might be longshots.

BUT, I would recommend, with your experience and GPA, that if there's a school you really want to attend, set up an interview and get some face time-- Deans of Admissions are most forthright when you talk to them face to face.