Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: How Do You Feel About Affirmative Action?  (Read 13203 times)

Dr Phil

How Do You Feel About Affirmative Action?
« on: May 27, 2006, 01:43:32 AM »
This post is intended to solicit true feelings about this topic, as it is one that I am very conflicted about. Part of me really appreciates the difficulties one must incur being raised as a minority in this country. There are issues that I sure as hell can't relate to or ever expect to understand, despite my best efforts, less a few months in Africa where the power dynamic is admittedly different.

I, like most beneficiaries of affirmative action, have worked extremly hard throughout undergrad. Furthermore, I studied very hard for the LSAT exam and outperformed 99% of my peers who had taken the test. These two factors make it very difficult for me to embrace affirmative action, and while I am trying to understand its rationale, I often find it hard to accept. While certainly economic and other hardships should weigh in to the admissions equation, I, and I think most top law school applicants, have all worked about as hard as we possibly could have to further our careers and place ourselves in the best position possible to achieve future success and fulfillment in law. In this respect the effort is uniform and not a matter of privelege and I expect it to be equal across race/nationality/sexual orientation/etc. This characteristic is universal.

I think my conflictedness towards AA is wrapped up in this effort and earnestness. I have tried my hardest, as I expect most my URM and non-URM peers have as well. However, though this effort was my best, others who have put forth similar effort, but have achieved lesser results and have a different skin pigmentation than I will still receive better admissions outcomes than I expect to. Often significantly so. Is this fair?

I guess I would like to hear any reasoned response with a reaction/critique of my feelings.