Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: LSAT Advise Needed  (Read 2478 times)

runnin_skeerd

LSAT Advise Needed
« on: February 01, 2004, 11:06:37 AM »
Here's the scoop:  I'm a non-traditional student who took about 10 years off from my first try at college.  During that first run I racked up 102 credit hours and a UGPA of 2.195.  I am now finishing up at another university.  I will graduate soon with a graduating UGPA of 3.85 (+ or -).  I am well aware that the LSDAS will somehow combine the old UGPA and the new UGPA to get some aweful figure that is not indicative of my current progress.  I am signed up for the June 14, 2004 LSAT.  In my practice testing under timed conditions I'm scoring anywhere from a 145 to 158.  My problem area is Logic Reasoning (I'm not doing bad on the Logic Games believe it or not).  Any advise or words of wisdom?  Am I a hopeless cause as far as actually getting into law school?

Andrew

• Sr. Citizen
  • "I just think the thing should work properly."
    • View Profile
    • Andrew Sinclair
Re: LSAT Advise Needed
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2004, 11:19:27 AM »
I can't remember exactly what LSDAS does to one's GPA, but they do mess around with it a little when you've been to different schools.  I'm pretty sure they also list a "GPA from degree granting institution" so your 3.85 should still show up on there somewhere.

Law Schools will hopefully consider the fact that your earlier GPA was a long time ago and not indicative of your actual performance.

For the LSAT: You have a lot of time between now and June.  I'd read a prep-book or two (they have lots of hints and strategy) and think about taking an LSAT class.  Practice practice practice!  I don't think one's LSAT score has much to do with how well he or she does in law school, so even if you don't do that well, don't think that it means you won't do well once you actually get to law school.

Ivy_Hopeful

• Sr. Citizen
  • Final UGPA 3.894 / LSAT 141