Law School Discussion

1L Summer: DoJ vs. Law Firm

Towlie

1L Summer: DoJ vs. Law Firm
« on: April 24, 2006, 11:06:44 PM »
Okay, so I'm pretty lucky in that I already have options for work the summer after my 1L. Basically, I know someone who holds a pretty important position in the Department of Justice and he has pretty much assured me that he can get me hired to work there the my first summer out of law school. I have no idea how hard it is to usually get a job like that, what the pay is like, or what the prestige around it is, but I do love DC and if it pays nothing Penn will give me $4000 automatically if I take it.

However, I'm also lucky in that I can almost definitly get a summer 1L job at a medium-to-large size law firm in the Philadelphia area if I want (connections there too). I'm not sure if it pays as well as the top firms do, and it wouldn't be at a firm that I would want to work at when I graduated (so I wouldn't do it my second year), but none the less, it would be a hefty-ish paycheck.

I have absolutely no intention of going into government when I get out of law school or judicial clerking. I'm going straight for the big firm in a big city.

Given all this, does the prestige factor of a DoJ summer 1L outweight the financial gain and learning experiences of a firm job? I'm kind of clueless on this, so any comments are appreciated!

callmemike

• f/k/a dunson the schtick
    • View Profile
Re: 1L Summer: DoJ vs. Law Firm
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2006, 11:10:43 PM »
Go with the DOJ. It will stand out to the big firms at OCI.

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2006, 06:28:06 AM »