Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: I need advice too...  (Read 1603 times)

dhjb

• Yahoo Instant Messenger - justinxwb
    • View Profile
    • Email
I need advice too...
« on: March 02, 2006, 07:11:25 PM »
Hi all.  I have been working as a civil engineer for 2 years, and have recently decided to go to law school.  I took the LSAT in February and got a 159, I am somewhat disappointed with my score as I was doing much better on practice tests (165 range). 

I am fairly new to the world of law school, will the following stats get me into a decent law school?

-159 LSAT
-3.4 GPA
-2.5 years work experience (environmental remediation/land development/water system 
                            design)

Should I retake the LSAT in June?  Any advice would be appreciated, thanks in advance.
Currently working as a Civil Engineer
LSAT 159
GPA 3.4

johnnydavis

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: I need advice too...
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2006, 08:05:38 PM »
Should one retake the LSAT?  This is a question that comes up often, and the answer is to only retake the LSAT if you are confident to get a higher score. 

In your case, you should retake the LSAT since you scored less than 6 points below what you've been averaging on your practice tests.  Have you ever scored below a 159 on your practice tests,

159 and 3.4 can get you into pretty good schools, but a 165 and 3.4 can give you a decent shot at the top 25.

dhjb

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2006, 09:52:53 PM »
Have you ever scored below a 159 on your practice tests,

159 and 3.4 can get you into pretty good schools, but a 165 and 3.4 can give you a decent shot at the top 25.

Thanks for the reply.  I didn't get to study quite as much as I would have liked.  I took 6 timed practice tests, and scored 163-166 on all of them except for one, which I scored a 158 on.