Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Mediocre LSAT, Pretty Good GPA; Where to apply??? Help!  (Read 3514 times)

CarpeDiem

• View Profile
Mediocre LSAT, Pretty Good GPA; Where to apply??? Help!
« on: January 03, 2004, 06:20:20 PM »
Hi everyone! I need help! Please post back with some advice.

I just got my LSAT score back from the December administration. I got a 151. I was really dissapointed, but I'm set on not taking the LSAT ever again. I want to get all my applications in within the next 2 weeks.

I have a 3.82 GPA. I majored in philosophy and political science at Rutgers College in NJ.

I am quite worried over my prospects for law school. I have a mediocre LSAT, but a fairly good GPA. The only problem is that I know many law schools heavily favor LSAT scores.

I know for sure I will apply to Rutgers-Newark and Seton Hall. What do you think my chances are at those schools?

I also would like to know which other schools I should apply to. Should I apply to any of the top-tier programs? I have the money to just apply like crazy and I would rather get rejected and know the top-tier schools rejected me rather than live knowing I never tried at all.

I have a pretty solid background as far as involvement: undergrad RA and worked as a paralegal for 2 1/2 years. I'm in about 5 honor societies, including Phi Beta Kappa which I was inducted to as a junior.

I also have some stellar letters and reccomendation and my personal statement is pretty solid.

Well, I hope some of yall can lend me some sound advice.

Thank you for listening!!!

CD

lawdawg19

• View Profile
Re: Mediocre LSAT, Pretty Good GPA; Where to apply??? Help!
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2004, 03:22:22 AM »
U. North Carolina weighs GPA 3 times more than LSAT. Avg LSAT 161, GPA 3.77, Also check out U. Florida. Many State schoosl favor GPA more. Focus on those.

kattiewitch

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2004, 07:41:37 PM »