Law School Discussion

October vs. December

October vs. December
« on: July 26, 2004, 11:29:41 AM »
I started studying for the LSAT a few weeks ago, and I'm already doing *quite* well on the practice tests I've taken. However, because this is a test you effectively only have one real shot at, I'm leaving nothing to chance, and I'm studying as hard as anyone. My goal is to have taken all of the released preptests by the time I go in for the real thing. This way, there's close to nothing they can throw at me that I won't have already seen, and my timing will be as good as it can be. And honestly, I have nothing better to do these next few months.

I had planned on taking it in October, but after seeing so many people devote upwards of six months to studying, I'm wondering if it might be wiser to put it off till December. Assuming that I'm not going to experience any "burn out," and that my basic plan to work through all the preptests stays the same, would I be better off waiting? My concern is that from now until October, I'd have about 30 tests to take, which is one every other day. I actually enjoy the tests, and I have the time to take them all, but I'm wondering if maybe I won't be getting as much out of them as I could by burning through them so rapidly -- not having the chance to really work the games over a bunch of times, etc. The other issue is that if I get to October 2nd and I don't feel completely ready to take the test, then I'm SOL because I will have exhausted all the available study materials. The downside of waiting until December is just that it's an additional two months I have to think about this thing, and also there's a very good chance that my returns on studying will be extremely diminished even before October; stretching it out two more months might just be overkill and a big waste of time. Any suggestions?

nathanielmark

Re: October vs. December
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2004, 12:32:02 PM »