Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Law School  (Read 2420 times)

jab30

• Place Personal Text Here
    • View Profile
Law School
« on: December 16, 2003, 04:37:54 PM »
I am deciding whether or not to attend law school.  My undergraduate degree was in dietetics and I completed my MBA about 2 years ago.  My ugpa was about a 2.9 and my MBA was about a 3.3.  Does anyone know if I have a shot getting into law school?  I am not really looking at a Top 25 school, more or less along the lines of Tier 2 or 3, (which, this may sound dumb, but how do I know if a school is Tier 1, 2 or 3).  Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks.

David Bakody

Re:Law School
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2003, 12:10:11 PM »
The main thing that determines your entry into law school is your LSAT score.  A low GPA won't hurt you nearly as much as a low LSAT.  In fact, a low LSAT will keep you out of law school, but a low GPA is just an obstacle that can (sometimes) be explained away.  

Prepare and practice for the LSAT.  Get a good score and you'll get into law school.

lawschoolafterdark

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Law School After Dark
Re: Law School
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2004, 02:08:35 PM »
There are lots of options on where to attend law school. It depends on what you want to do when you graduate. I am in an evening program in Birmingham, Alabama.  My undergrad GPA was not great and I did not want to put  too much time into the LSAT.  I plan to practice in a small practice and I plan to practice in the state where I am going to school.The only test that matters in my case is Alabama's bar exam when I finish.

Check out my site lawschoolafterdark.com.

jgruber

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2004, 02:20:58 PM »
Download the sample LSAT from www.lsac.com and give yourself the test.  That should give you an idea of what score you might get.  If your LSAT is high enough, I suspect they will overlook your undergraduate GPA.   ;)

OldSchool