Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: 156 LSAT 2.3 GPA  (Read 4426 times)

inca_jones

156 LSAT 2.3 GPA
« on: December 16, 2003, 12:48:47 AM »
Hello all.  I have a B.S. in neurophys with a 2.3 GPA.  I got 156 on the Oct. 2003 LSAT.  I have two questions:

1.  I did very well on all the sections except for the games.  I got roughly 20 out of 25 correct on all 3 "word" sections, but I got roughly 5 out of 20 correct on the "games" section.  Would re-taking the exam be a good idea?  How much of an improvement over 156 would be necessary to justify the retake?

2.  Do I even have a shot at 1st and 2nd tier schools with my creds?  Or am I destined for 3rd and 4th tiers?  FYI, I have 5 years working experience (information technology) and I have 2 *very good* recommendations (no I didn't pay them!  :)  ).  I'm just trying to figure out how much my lousy GPA is going to pull me down.

Any input is GREATLY appreciated.  Thanks!

inca jones

inca_jones

Re:156 LSAT 2.3 GPA
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2003, 01:45:49 AM »
Anyone?

inca_jones

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2003, 10:22:47 PM »
Hmm...over 40 views and no replies.  That's interesting.

Bobby D

« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2003, 09:26:42 AM »
Did you go to an Ivy or highly-rated ungergrad school?  Do you have extensive work experience?  Are you hoping to go into health/commercial law (like have you worked at a BioTech startup or something else compelling)?  Good story (like child of poor immigrants, etc)?