Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Can LOR's from difficult attorneys hurt you.  (Read 2437 times)

swifty

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • LSAT Sucks
    • Email
Can LOR's from difficult attorneys hurt you.
« on: July 20, 2004, 11:52:20 PM »
I am gettting three LOR's.  One will be from a Prof, one will be from an employer, and one will be with a lawyer who handled a case for me, and we still remain friends.

I just asked the lawyer today if he would do one, and he said "yes, but don't tell tell me what to write.  I am a lawyer, I know what's best."  Anybody have this experience?

Also, since the prof's and empoyers don't really know what to write, should I write the LOR and just have them transcribe it onto the form?  If I did write these, can anyone point me to a good source that shows what a good LOR from a Prof, and an employer should contain?

Thanks1!!
And the sign said "Long-haired freaky people need not apply" So I tucked my hair up under my hat and I went in to ask him why. He said "You look like a fine outstanding young man, I think you'll do.  So I took off my hat, I said "Imagine that. Huh! Me workin' for you!"Sign, sign, everywhere a sign..

jacy85

• LSD Obsessed
    • View Profile
Re: Can LOR's from difficult attorneys hurt you.
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2004, 08:51:39 AM »

Also, since the prof's and empoyers don't really know what to write, should I write the LOR and just have them transcribe it onto the form?  If I did write these, can anyone point me to a good source that shows what a good LOR from a Prof, and an employer should contain?

It seems odd to me that they don't konw what to write.  Hasn't anyone asked them to write a rec before??