Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: What if scenario.....  (Read 1142 times)

southbeachlegal

• View Profile
What if scenario.....
« on: January 16, 2006, 11:50:39 PM »
Hi, I am an undergraduate student looking to attend law school down the road.  I have a CGPA of about 2.0.  The bulk of those marks were 12 years ago and the degree was never completed.  In fact, I only completed first year and two courses in 2nd year.

Fast forward to 2002 where I returned to university switched my major to engineering from social science and did moderately better, about a 2.6 for first year engineering.  The following year, I ran into some real issues with depression, that was unbeknownst to myself.  I was sleeping all the time and I was become very concerned with my behaviour, so I seeked out professional help.  I was put on the waiting list for professional help and in the meantime my sister went through a similar issue.

It turned out we had a family secret, our mother's side of the family has a long history of depression and Mom had been on medication for a number of years.  Her mother had it, her brother had it etc.

So I was very relieved because it made sense since I didn't have any reasons to feel so down and out.

Since that time, my studies have been on hold, I have seen a medical doctor for meds and a psychologists for therapy and fully intend to return to school.

My second year in eng i completed 1 term and it was during this term I went through all of this but I didn't know at that time what it was my GPA for the term was about 2.7.

What if I were to do well over the next three years of undergrad, say 3.2 - 3.7 and perform well on the LSAT would I have a chance?

I appreciate all your replies.

Regards

southbeachlegal

southbeachlegal

• View Profile
Re: What if scenario.....
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2006, 12:12:24 AM »
How do LSAC look at retaking couses to upgrade your GPA, I would be willing to take a couple courses I failed....