Law School Discussion

Recommendation for other purpose?

Who dat?

Recommendation for other purpose?
« on: December 18, 2005, 11:03:33 AM »
Two years ago I was planning on going to graduate school in economics so I had a professor write me a letter of recommendation for that purpose.  Now, I am planning on applying to law school and want to use that letter, but I think it might specifically mention the graduate program.  If the recommendation mentions this program, is that going to be a deal breaker for admission comittees, or might they gloss over that little portion for the more substantive parts of the recommendation?  Might it be better not to include a faculty recommendation (I graduated 2 1/2 years ago...) and instead have two work related recommendations?

Any input would be appreciated!, thanks,

Re: Recommendation for other purpose?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2005, 11:46:21 AM »
Oh dear, you are definitely a newbie. First off, most school require the recommendation be mailed by the person recommending you. If you go through LSDAS, they certainly require it--so, you would have to contact this professor to mail it him/herself. If you are mailing letters directly to schools, if they don't require the recommeder to be sending the letter him/herself, they do require the person to sign the recommender form--so, you'll still have to contact the professor.

Now, since you have to contact the professor already, why can't you just have him change the letter so that it says LAW SCHOOL and not GRAD SCHOOL? If you feel that everything he says in the letter applies to LS just as much as it did to grad school, just have him print out a new copy with that modification. It will take 2 seconds.