Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: financial hold on transcript  (Read 4849 times)

patchpixel

• View Profile
financial hold on transcript
« on: July 12, 2004, 07:34:31 PM »
Hi! I have a frustrating situation and I'm afraid it will really ruin my chance of getting into law school. First of all I did my freshman year at a school were I earned only a 2.9 then I transferred and graduated from the new school cum laude. I can't remember what my GPA was but I think it was around a 3.4 or something. I have a financial hold on the school that I graduated from. I owe them about 15 grand and there is no way they will release my transcipts. I registered with LSAC and I was told that as long as I have transcripts from at least one school they will be able to process my score. I also went to grad school for social work, have been working for the past 5 years and I did an evening graduate certificate program at night that I completed in 2001. I'm just really worried that all the admissions people will have access to is my freshman year gpa which is so much lower than my GPA upon graduation. How does it work when you go to 2 different undergrads? Any suggestions - any ideas on how i can get my undergrad that I graduated from to release my transcripts? -Anna

lexylit

Re: financial hold on transcript
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2004, 07:37:24 PM »
you can't do anything without that real transcript-- i think that's your certification that you have an actual BA, so not only would schools only see a 2.9, but they would see a 2.9 dropout as far as i can tell. are you planning on ever paying up or were you just going to let it slide indefinitely?

EnglishToLaw

• Sr. Citizen
  • Bow ties: quintessential legal fashion accessories
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2004, 11:28:01 PM »
Any suggestions - any ideas on how i can get my undergrad that I graduated from to release my transcripts? -Anna

Uh, pay them?

???

Dixon

• View Profile