Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Graduate GPA  (Read 1395 times)

theD

• View Profile
Graduate GPA
« on: November 30, 2005, 06:19:28 PM »
I'm wondering how law schools factor in your grad. school GPA, and how they consider what grad. school you went to.  I graduated with a BA in 2004, my major GPA was great, but overall is low due to me being Pre-Med and hating it.  I have since become a grad. student at Harvard and done well there, I wonder if this can somehow compensate for my horrid GPA?

Any thoughts?

thenextstep

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • LSN
Re: Graduate GPA
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2005, 06:24:07 PM »
Yes and no.  I asked a few schools about this.  Basically they see grad school as showing your love of learning and seriousness about doing the work, but GPA from your undergrad is a different part of the process and your grad GPA really doesn't matter (more the quality of the program you are in, which I'm sure is strong).  It will help but in an indirect way.

theD

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2005, 07:10:02 PM »
What about the actual major GPA? My history and humanities GPA was pretty high, like I said before, my overall GPA was pulled down heavily by the fact that I was a Pre-Med. student, and my Uni. was more Science oriented, so I had to spend more credits on it.

phooey

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2005, 01:30:14 PM »
I think it will help.  Based on what I've read, any upward trend in grades recieved is looked upon favorably.  And obviously, the grad program you're enrolled in is going to be considered high-quality.  Harvard took you as a grad student despite your bad grades in science..I think that says a lot.

nukelaw

• Sr. Citizen
  • Get your eagle on
    • AOL Instant Messenger - jimmydahat
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2005, 01:34:28 PM »