Law School Discussion

Study Abroad Grades and LSAC

TST

Study Abroad Grades and LSAC
« on: November 09, 2005, 07:18:16 PM »
I did a search for what I was looking for, but found threads with conflicting answers.

Anyway, I am currently studying abroad in Hong Kong and doing terribly. I have a 3.9 at home so I'm not really sure what's going on, but I'm concerned about what this will do to my LSAC gpa.

For my school the grades don't go on my transcript neither are they factored into the GPA.

Is there *any* way I can get around LSAC factoring them into my gpa? I'm afraid this will kill any chance I ever had at a t-14.

I appreciate any help/advice.

corky

• View Profile
Re: Study Abroad Grades and LSAC
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2005, 09:17:03 PM »
Unfortunately, as far as I can tell LSAC factors in study abroad grades no matter what.  At the same time, most people do worse when abroad because there's so much to adjust to, so they'll take that into account when looking at that semester.

RocketBot

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2005, 09:22:36 PM »
Unfortunately, as far as I can tell LSAC factors in study abroad grades no matter what.  At the same time, most people do worse when abroad because there's so much to adjust to, so they'll take that into account when looking at that semester.

This isn't true.  If the school isn't on their list of 4-year insitutions they don't even want the transcript.

If it is, though, it will be factored into your LSAC GPA.

Email LSAC and ask what will happen.

TST

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2005, 09:37:28 PM »
I will do that, thank you both

JPhilmore

• This actually is me.
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2005, 09:43:17 PM »
I went to Oxford and they didn't factor my grades in......

Apples and Oranges

• My puppy
    • AOL Instant Messenger - MissPalmboom
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2005, 12:43:40 AM »