Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: From Art School to Law School  (Read 4409 times)

Katya285

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
From Art School to Law School
« on: June 30, 2002, 11:19:13 AM »
I will be attending the Academy of Art College in San Francisco this fall, majoring in graphic design. I would like to go to law school upon graduation, but was wondering how difficult that would be, since I am majoring in graphic design, not pre-law, English, history, etc. Is it going to be difficult to get into law school w/ a creative arta background? Or will that be looked upon as "well-rounded"? I'm kinda freakin out b/c my friends are saying that if I know that I want to go into law, I should pursue a more "practical" major for my bachelor's. Any feedback would be great. Thanks!

MikieP4121

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: From Art School to Law School
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2004, 12:15:03 PM »

Your Major is fine. Law schools look first at your LSAT score and what grades you have in school. If you do not get in based on that they might look at how rigorous you undergraduate study was if your LSAT/Grades are not enough. I would not worry about what your major is except if you want to go into Patent/intellectual property.  For that you have to have a science background.  At my law school some people have wierd degrees and they still got in.  Do something you like. i was board getting my business degree.

pinktinker

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2004, 12:36:08 PM »
Intellectual property law is certainly not limited to tech and science.  Art/music/entertainment law falls into the intellectual property law category -- e.g. Napster, which is part-tech, part-music copyright.

Findedeux

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2004, 09:08:55 PM »