Law School Discussion

Free Pre-Law Workshop: Online

Ulty

Free Pre-Law Workshop: Online
« on: October 12, 2005, 04:12:47 PM »
I am a law professor and this fall I am offering a free online pre-law workshop entitled “Becoming a Highly Effective Law Student”.  So far more than 150 students from more than a dozen schools natiowide have signed up for the workshop.

The focus of the workshop is two-fold.  First, I explain to the students
how they should look at their eduction so that they can prepare to compete
for the best jobs possible upon graduating law school.  I will discuss how
students are evaluated from the professors and employers point of view.
It is like a behind the scenes view of law school.

In the second part of the workshop I will go over a short 2-page case.
Then I will ask the students to point out the holding and reasoning of the
case, and finally I will show them what a well-written case summary of
this case looks like.

I will also provide students with suggestions on books they can use to
improve their skills for law school, and email a transcript of the
workshop to anyone who requests it.

At the end of the workshop I will answer questions.  The workshop will be
30-45 minutes long.

Below are the dates and times the workshop is available.

If you are interested, email me at michaelsantana@legalwritingprep.com to tell me which workshop date you are interested in.


Sincerely,


Michael Santana


Fall 2005 WORKSHOP DATES & TIMES

Tuesday, November 1, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Thursday, November 3, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Monday, November 7, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Wednesday, November 9, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Thursday, November 10, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Monday November 14, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Tuesday November 15, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Wednesday, November 16, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Thursday November 17, 4 p.m. PST (5 p.m. MST, 6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST)

Re: Free Pre-Law Workshop: Online
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2005, 04:59:53 PM »
i was part of this workshop like 2 weeks ago and it was really good. i learned a lot from it! i thinks is really good for the ones that have been already accepted in law school to know what to expect in the first year. and the best part: is free! hope you enjoy it also.  ;)

jdw112

Re: Free Pre-Law Workshop: Online
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2005, 05:09:39 PM »
Professor, care to tell us a bit about yourself?