Law School Discussion

when should i take the lsat? please help!

when should i take the lsat? please help!
« on: September 29, 2005, 09:29:59 AM »
I'm a junior, and I was planning on taking the LSAT on Saturday.  I studied on my own in the summer with the LGB and LRB, and I've pretty much been getting around the mid to high 160's on the practice tests.  I've decided not to take the October exam because I want to break at least 170 on the actual test.  So here's my dilemma...should I wait until June and take it when most other juniors take it?  I've taken a lot of the tests already and I feel like that's a long time to wait.  And apparently the writing section is going to be scored in June '06, so I have some hesitations about that.  Would I be better off taking it in February or December instead?  And would taking the Powerscore full-length course be helpful considering I've read the two books on my own?  Any advice is greatly appreciated.   :)

katrina at law

Re: when should i take the lsat? please help!
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2005, 09:55:48 AM »
You should take it when you are the most prepared.  Don't take it in June just because that is when other people your age are taking it.  When do you plan to apply for law school-- that also factors in your timeline.  If you are applying for admission to Fall 2006, then the latest you should take it is December. 

As for the class, I've found that taking a class can be very helpful for those who need a structured environment in order to learn; there are a lot of materials/test questions, etc.

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2005, 09:35:35 PM »