Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: who is over 35, has more than 2 kids and wants to go to law school. I have ?s  (Read 3985 times)

marriedwchildren

• View Profile
Who is over 35, you have more than 2 kids and wants to go to law school or is already in law school. I am just trying to think if this is actually feasible and do other people really do it. If you are in law school, how are you doing it?

Highway

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
I'm 35 with exactly two children (ages 2 and 4). I don't precisely fit the criteria of your question, but I'm close, I suppose.

I'm a 1L in the evening division of my school and I work full time during the days. My wife also works full time. We have no family in the area.

How am I doing it (and how is my wife managing both kids without me)? One day at a time. Honestly, it's not easy. I'm gone from 7am - 10pm 3 nights a week (and a lot of other evening programs may be 4-5 nights a week). I'm also studying a lot on the nights I'm home and on the weekends.

I don't know your family situation (spouse or other family available to help out), but I wouldn't do this without some type of help available. It's not just going to class and then coming home. The amount of reading is tremendous, not including time you may have to spend at the library doing research for your legal writing course.

If you have a burning desire to go to law school, you'll make it work. If it's just an interest in law, I suggest you buy the E&E books (Examples and Explanations) for the various subjects and read it at your own pace. Then again...I could just be saying this because I only get 5 hours of sleep a night and I'm thoroughly exhausted.  :D Maybe you should ask me again next summer when I have some time off.

marriedwchildren

• View Profile