Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Many Questions  (Read 633 times)

arthistorian

• View Profile
Many Questions
« on: September 25, 2005, 07:42:14 PM »
I'm new to the idea of law school so please bear with me while I ask numerous questions.  I am currently working on my PhD in Art History, which I hope to complete within the next three years.  My undergraduate GPA was a terrible 3.1 and I have yet to take the LSAT.  I am married to an officer in the military and for numerous health related reasons we are planning to have a child as soon as the research phase of my PhD is complete.  Also, I have several prestigious fellowships and will soon have a stint with UNESCO on my record.  Considering all this here are my questions:

1) My choices for law schools are limited since I am only willing to attend one that is near a base where my husband would be stationed.  Would my GPA hinder such efforts?  Would the PhD and other related experiences help? I realize that LSAT scores are a huge factor.

2) How difficult would it be to pursue legal education with a really young child in tow?

3) I am not too worried about getting into a top-tiered law school.  Would attending a not-so-great school affect employment chances later?

4) My interest lies in the practice of law dealing with art and cultural heritage.  How important is it to attend a program that specializes in that? Would a general law background be adequate?

I probably have plenty of other questions but can't think of them right now.  I realize that there are many variables involved here, but I would appreciate any input regarding my situation.  In the meantime, I'll browse other threads for info.   :)

KayakAnyone

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Many Questions
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2005, 11:46:43 PM »