Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: what should i write about  (Read 10916 times)

Jessica

what should i write about
« on: May 06, 2001, 05:53:56 PM »
hi everyone,

i'm a junior at james madison university in virginia.  i'm just getting started on my law school applications and i'm starting to think about what i'm goign to write for my personal statement.  my only problem is, i really haven't done anything that extraordinary or law related.  i've heard that it's not good just to talk about why you want to be a lawyer.  does anyone have any advice?

rwillaa

• AOL Instant Messenger - pmkn108
    • View Profile
Re: what should i write about
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2001, 02:58:27 PM »
I know you wrote this in May but maybe you will check this again. Anyway I am having a similar problem. I was trying to think of an experience in my life that would reveal the kind of person I am without just coming out and saying I am this and I have done that and I want to do this etc.

Any suggestions PLEASE!!!
Even just suggestions for brainstorming are welcome

(Senior at Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville)
Rae Marie

harvard 1L

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2001, 12:15:51 PM »
the obvious answer here is to write about yourself.  this is your opportunity to tell admission committees what makes you special.  you have several options:

1. write about an experience or activity (hopefully not law-related) that reveals your best qualities.  for example, i wrote about the characteristics that i developed through musical studies--self-motivation, perseverance, leadership and teamwork (through chamber music).  as long as the characteristics that you choose are broad enough, it will be easy for the law school to see how that could make you a good law student and, eventually, a good lawyer.