Law School Discussion

Stay local or move on?

Stay local or move on?
« on: June 17, 2015, 03:13:04 PM »
I'm currently enrolled to take the October LSAT and will graduate with my BA in May.  I'm attending law school as a second career (kind of...I've been a paralegal for a number of years) and am married with a family.  I am fortunate to live in an area where there are not 1, not 2, but 3 law schools within commuting distance.  All are affordable, and they range from a 2nd tier with a good local and regional reputation, to a 4th tier with an excellent metro reputation, but not much outside of that.  I took my "raw" test LSAT and came up with a 153.  After a two weeks of studying, I have managed a 160 (thank you Logic Games Bible!).  I expect once I fully master logic games and do some fine tuning on logical reasoning that my final LSAT will be in the high 160's -- low 170's.  The bad?  I'll have a fairly low (2.8 -- 3.0) GPA, mostly due to stupid choices 10 years ago.  I had originally planned on staying local, and attending one of the schools around me, but didn't expect to be doing so well on my practice tests.  Should I plan to apply to a higher ranked school?  If so, any suggestions are welcome.  My concerns (in order of importance) are: cost, making sure my husband is able to find a job to support us (he has a MPA and currently works for the state in corrections), as well as cost of living and schools and all of the other things you consider when uprooting your family.  Thanks!

Re: Stay local or move on?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2015, 05:27:59 PM »