Law School Discussion

Interested in Entertainment Law. Meeting with some in the field. What ?s to ask?

Hey everybody,

I'm an undergrad that's interested in Entertainment or IP law and I've got the opportunity to meet with some in the field who work at a very large talent agency. I'm still exploring the idea of whether or not the field is right for me, so this meeting is a great chance for me to get some insight into the profession.

Do you guys have any suggestions on what questions might be extra pertinent and might help me decide if this is something that I'd really be interested in pursuing?

Thanks!

Regards,

D

It's good to meet with people and I think you should just ask the typically questions of an interview.

However, law school is a three to four year long process. You should become as versed in the pros and cons of attending law school before pursuing a career in entertainment law. It should be noted that very few if any law students that start with a particular field of interest actually end up in that field. When I started law school I thought I would be doing IP Law, but I took an IP Law class and hated it. I ended up becoming a litigation attorney, which is something I never thought I would do as I was terrified of public speaking before law school.

Definitely, meet and then you should ask what this person did to get where they are. You should also try and sit in on an entertainment or IP law class at your local law school. Maybe even go to the bookstore and read the textbook to get some basic understanding.  You might even want to do that before the meeting if possible, just to have something to talk about.

I worked at an entertainment law firm for a little while. Here are some things to consider: