Law School Discussion

Good Programs for Law Grads

Nimmy

• View Profile
    • Email
Good Programs for Law Grads
« on: October 25, 2014, 09:40:12 PM »
Haven't posted here in several years, but I figure this is the kind of place to ask for opinions and advice.  I'll start with a little background on my situation.

I graduated from law school about 5 years ago and found legal work to be pedantic, boring, and soul crushing.  It's really just not for me at all.  I made the decision to join the military for a number of reasons and have been hiding out here for a few years.  I've deployed overseas, held leadership positions at a low level, and as a result of my service I get to use the Post 9/11 GI Bill.  It makes sense to me to go back to school after my commitment ends because it's free and I can get a fresh start at something else while using my law degree and military experience to give me a leg up from my peers.

The reason I'm posting here is because I really have no idea what kind of program or degree I should be looking at.  I don't want to spend years and years in school, so it would probably be some kind of 2 years masters program, but beyond that I don't know.  The sort of thing I want to get out of this new degree is that the program has lots of connections with companies where I can work internships while in school and that the industry is something that will be relevant for the next few decades with actual job prospects.  I am not trying to get a useless fine arts degree; academia is not my goal.

Does anyone have any suggestions?  I guess the really obvious answer would be some kind of Public Policy degree at one of the better DC schools, but does anyone have other ideas?

Re: Good Programs for Law Grads
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2014, 10:58:36 PM »
With your military and law background a good degree might be a Master's of Public Administration, which opens the door to being a City Manager or Assistant City Manager etc.