Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Weighing TX law school options  (Read 1885 times)

K1988

• View Profile
Weighing TX law school options
« on: February 05, 2014, 08:36:28 PM »
Hello everyone,

I am currently in my third year as a teacher in Texas. I did Teach for America and then stayed a third year as a teacher. All along, I have wanted to go to law school, and I am planning to apply by November of this year. I'm looking to stay in Texas, and I wanted to hear what you guys had to say about two options I'm considering. One of my choices is UT, but I would have to wait until fall of 2015 to start. Another option I am seriously considering is starting in the spring (2015) at Baylor. By the time I start law school I will already be 27, and I am eager to get started ASAP. Even with this early start option, would it be better to hold out and wait for UT? Curious to hear what people think.

Maintain FL 350

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Weighing TX law school options
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 09:30:28 PM »
What are your numbers (LSAT/GPA)?

Citylaw

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2014, 01:28:01 AM »
Have you taken the LSAT yet?

I don't think you should rush into law school just for the sake of wanting to start ASAP.  As an anonymous internet poster that know nothing about you or your situation I have the following advice to offer.

Apply this Fall to a number of Texas schools. If your numbers are good enough to get into UT you will have a number of scholarship options and if you visit Houston Law and love it getting a J.D. debt free there might be a better option than UT at $150,000.

CA Law Dean

• Sr. Citizen
  • Yes . . . law school is intentionally challenging.
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2014, 11:26:28 AM »